Commissioner DeBaptiste was first appointed in 1995 by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate M. Adela Eads and reappointed in July 2000 by Speaker of the House Moira R. Lyons. She is Chair of the Public Information /Talent Bank Committee and serves as Chair of the Advisory Council in the 5th Congressional District for the PCSW. Ms. DeBaptiste is an at-large board member of the National Association of Commissions for Women (NACW) and the CT Federation of Business and Professional Women. She serves on many boards such as the Women’s Campaign School and is a past National President of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women.